I Prefer The Obscure Remix Blog

No! Stop it Dad, you’re embarrassing me!

My good friend Sinead over at Sigla Blog sent this piece of footage to me about a month ago, and I can’t quite get it out of my head. It’s shameful! Can you imagine getting dolled up on a Saturday night, getting a few drinks in, heading to a rave, maybe even necking a banger or two, only to find the dj is practically your Dad, and he’s well into the swing of his midlife crisis! I couldn’t get over it, Peter Hook how could you? It’s hilarious, yet disturbing. I know there are some edits to the footage, but at no point do you see him change a record, and correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure a set of headphones are an integral part of the dj process. Shame on you Mr Hook.

The memory of Joy Division/New Order/Factory Records is very much fresh in my mind for the last few months. In fact, it’s been impossible to avoid. The death of Tony Wilson, the arrival of Anton Corbijn’s brilliant new movie/biopic of the last 7 years of Ian Curtis’s life, Control, that bloody Pepsi or Fanta advert that uses a horrific edit of Blue Monday, and the predictable repackaging and re-release of Joy Division’s back catalogue.

I find it hard to believe I was only 5 when Curtis died, but even harder to believe that i’m now 10 years older than he was when he killed himself. It’s easy to forget he died so young, only 23. I feel like I grew up with Joy Division, discovering their music at a young age, courtesy of my older brother and his record collection. Their music and artwork is still as powerful and relevant today as I first remember it. The movie is handled really well by Corbijn, who was possibly the best choice for the job, given his close proximity to the band for the latter part of their career, and the screenplay was adapted from Touching From A Distance, the 1995 memoir by Curtis’s wife Deborah. There are plenty of reviews over at Metacritic, no need for me to offer anything more, except Sam Riley does an excellent job as Curtis, and Toby Kebbell is brilliant as the late, great Rob Gretton. Here’s the trailer, it’s well worth checking out. More so than a Peter Hook dj set!

October 22, 2007 - Posted by | Music, Personal

5 Comments »

  1. Only 10 years older than Ian Curtis when he croaked it and exactly the same age as Jesus Christ when he was crucified. As a good friend of ours would say: ‘you need to get a couple of bangers into you, boss’!

    Comment by Martina | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Reason #42 why I think Peter Hook is a total git. DJ? More like Knob Jockey…

    Comment by Sinéad | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. Martina – Yes, I could do with getting ‘off my pits on a till’ every now and then! 😉
    Sinead – I met Peter Hook a few years ago in Dublin, it was not a pleasant experience. I’d rather stick with my memories.

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. it’s amazing what you can do with a laptop & ableton.

    Comment by billy lyons | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Post a review of Arcade Fire and stop dicking about.

    Comment by Pedro | October 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

