I Prefer The Obscure Remix Blog

No! Stop it Dad. You’re embarrassing me! Part 2

I’ve been up to my eyes, but dying to write some stuff for the last week. I’ll be back soon though, with lots of irrelevant posts.

It’s getting near the end of year poll time too, and my mind is racing already. So many choices! Will it be MIA, will it be Menomena, will it be Matthew Dear, who knows. Watch this space. For now, I’ll leave you with this fine piece of footage that fits rather well beside the Peter Hook post from a few weeks ago. Now that MIA is cancelled, there’s a gap in my diary. And what better way to fill it than Duran Duran on December 5th in the Phoenix Park Marquee. I still remember winning a music quiz in school when I was 9. My teacher granted me one wish, any album I wanted I could have. I went for Seven And The Ragged Tiger by Duran Duran. It was 1984, and The Reflex was unavoidable. The jacket, the video, the water, the glove, the mullets, the remix even! It was like nothing I’d ever seen or heard before. When people talk about great British singles bands, Duran Duran rarely get a mention. Their releases from the 90’s on should be completely disregarded, but up until then you can’t really argue with them (can you?).

Girl’s On Film, Rio, Hungry Like The Wolf, Save A Prayer, Is There Something I Should Know, Planet Earth, Union Of The Snake, The Reflex, Wild Boys, Notorious, and A View To A Kill, all hit singles in the 80’s.

Talking to a friend last night at the Caribou show in Whelan’s (great gig), he tipped me off about what to expect on December 5th. And here it is!

Did they destroy their cred in the 90’s? Did they ever have any? Will they have any after this? Who knows? But I can’t wait, it’ll be hilarious!

So much for the post on why I love Soul Jazz Records so much. That’ll have to wait for another day. Back soon….

November 22, 2007 - Posted by | Duran Duran, Music, Phoenix Park

7 Comments »

  1. Thats a scary video…anyway, I have to give an honourable mention to these Duarn “post-credible” phase- Skin Trade, Notorious, and ordinary world, all great songs.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Notorious made it into my list alright Kev, it was a few years after The Reflex. I have to say though, I thought the others were pants, it just sounds like a different band to me. Skin Trade was an 80’s single alright, but I felt it was their weakest. Ordinary World, my Mom liked it more than me, ’nuff said!

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. I think by Notorious, it was a different band, chiefly with the loss of Taylors Roger and Andy. Andy in particular was crucial to their edgy sound, coming from a hard rock background, and I have to agree, the doodlings of replacement Warren Cuccurillo led to more unpalatable material. Happily its the original line up again now, isn’t it?

    Comment by kevmoore | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. Yep, the line-up changes really ruined things Kev, and I think they’re back to the original members now. Should be good fun!

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | November 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. Ordinary World and Come Undone are good songs too, who cares about “cred,” it should just be about good music.

    Comment by Chanex | December 1, 2007 | Reply

  6. Actually Cillian,
    you didn’t choose 7 and the Ragged Tiger.
    You chose Arena, which was a live/concert album released around the same time!
    I know ‘cos I nicked it for a while.
    But it’s probably stashed at home in the closet…..
    With Tom Cruise and R Kelly.
    Woo hoo!
    Nobody is safe anymore.

    Comment by Conor | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  7. You’re right Chanex, it shouldn’t be about cred, it should be about good songs. I don’t think either of those are though, sorry.
    Conor- it was defo 7&RG, it was even written on it I think.
    Did you swipe it on me?
    🙂

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | December 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

