I Prefer The Obscure Remix Blog

He’s making a list, he’s checking it twice…

So, we’re coming to the end of another year and it’s time to get those charts in order. So what was 2007 like? Well, it was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Some amazing albums were released, but album sales dropped dramatically in general, and ticket prices went up more than we could ever have expected. But I’m not getting into any of that now. So I skipped through my iPod to have a look at everything I added for the entire year, and this is what I came up with. It’s by no means definitive, as there’s still a massive pile of albums I still haven’t put on my iTunes, and then there’s everything I bought on vinyl. I know I’ve forgotten a few things, but this will have to do for now.

Pop over to Pedro’s fabulous blog for his chart, and Matt Vinyl has just posted his favourite 7″ purchases for the year. I’m also looking forward to seeing what Nialler, Red, Jim, Billy Lyons, and Sinead deem worthy of inclusion on that all important Christmas list. Please leave some recommendations based on my choices, I’m sure there’s loads of albums I’ve missed out on this year that are essential. Happy reading!

Albums of the Year (in no particular order, but kind of really)

MIA – Kala

Matthew Dear – Asa Breed

Menomena – Friend and Foe

Cadence Weapon – Breaking Kayfabe

Le Loup – The Throne…

Beirut – The Flying Club Cup

Les Savy Fav – Let’s Stay Friends

Colleen – Les Ondes Silencieuses

Adrian Crowley – Long Distance Swimmer

Dan Deacon – Spiderman Of The Rings

Songs of the Year

MIA – Bamboo Banga

Battles – Atlas

Matthew Dear – Don & Sherri

Le Loup – Planes and Vultures

Les Savy Fav – Patty Lee

Beirut – Nantes

Menomena – Wet and Rusting

Dan Deacon – Wham City

LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends

MIA – Paper Planes

 

Special mention must also go to Pantha Du Prince, O’Death, Apparat, Taken By Trees, Adjagas, Panda Bear, Holy Fuck, Explosions in the Sky, Gui Boratto, Battles, Deerhunter, Amiina, Mice Parade, Bat for Lashes, Vector Lovers, Elektrons, The National, Fog, Malajube, LCD Soundsystem, Two Lone Swordsmen, Besnard Lakes, Arcade Fire, The Field, Murcof, Shape of Broad Minds, Silje Nes, Efterklang, Modeselektor, Nina Nastasia, Von Sudenfed, Ungdomskulen, Caribou, and Michael Fakesch.

2007, a rather fine vintage.

 

 

 

 

December 7, 2007 - Posted by | Albums of the Year, Music, Songs of the Year

10 Comments »

  1. Yay! You’ve done your list and at least I recognise some of it, unlike your friend over on CST! I see you’ve remained faithful to your original inclinations and I’m happy to see stuff in there I don’t know- just on time for the weekend online shopping spree. I haven’t heard Collen, Les Savy Fav or Adrian Crowley (hoping someone Irish will pick the latter up for me for Christmas).
    I love lists and I’m delighted you got in there early. Mine will be closer to the 20th of December. I’m setting off today with albums from June.
    ciao

    Comment by red | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Do like a top 10 or something…
    I can’t understand them if they are not signified by numbers in a list…
    Who the hell is Colleen?

    Comment by Pedro | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. I love lists too Red! Looking forward to yours. Adrian’s album is beautiful, hopefully someone will pick it up for you. Colleen and LSF are great too, definitely worth checking out.
    Ciao

    Pedro – It IS a Top 10, read the bold print! If 1=MIA, then 2=Matthew Dear, and so on, and so on…
    😀
    Colleen is great, i’ll post the review I wrote of her album earlier in the year. I’d say Billy Lyons might have something you could listen too, but I’m not sure if it’s your bag really. Is the Modest Mouse album really that good? Never got that Sunset Rubdown album – loved the first – must check it out.

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. Pedro – BTW, my little icon is a tribute to you, Jack, and my bro Conor. It’s a photee I took in TO last year, and rather nice it is. Sunnier times!

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  5. I need a proper list with an in-depth description for each placing…
    A thesis if you will…

    Billy Lyons is MIA (see what I did there?)…

    Modest Mouse has one of the best frontmen around. Isaac Brock is a fucking legend. Sure he is the one who signed your beloved Wolf Parade to Sub Pop man!
    Spencer Krug is the bomb! And that album is just fucking amazing. Totally weird jaunty victorian trippy shit.

    The icon – I can’t make it out. Where do I go to make it bigger?

    Comment by Pedro | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  6. Nice list! I too have yet to get my hands on the Adrian Crowley album, although I really have no excuse. Colleen is bonkers, saw her in the Spiegeltent during Fringe this year.

    Comment by Catherine | December 11, 2007 | Reply

  7. Catherine – Thanks for the comment. Adrian’s album is stunning! A real masterpiece. I can’t recommend it enough. Still haven’t seen Colleen live, I believe it’s a real treat though. I really liked this album of hers. It made me go out and buy the previous one’s. All very interesting too. You doing a list?

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | December 11, 2007 | Reply

  8. USB Ion Turntables! Discuss!

    They’re an ingenius invention but I’ve been using a similar technology based on the same principle for about 10 years now. If you have a laptop with a soundcard then just use the line in on the computer to play in your records. If it sounds a bit crap you can adjust it using a sound program like SoundForge. Then you can slap it through an MP3 converter and hey presto, your vinyl is now in digitised format.

    Don’t ever buy anything from those catalogue inserts into papers as it all costs at least twice the normal price. Pop into Peats, Maplin or HMV and you’ll buy a USB turntable there. Alternatively if you already have a laptop and turntable we can sort out (wink, wink, nugdge, nudge) some appropriate software for you.

    Apologies for posting the reply here but when I’m in work the firewall doesn’t let me post comments on my own blog.

    Comment by Matt Vinyl | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  9. Brilliant stuff Matt! Cheers for the speedy reply. Sound advice, pardon the pun.
    Laptop, check! Soundforge, check! Soundcard, harrumph!! I used the old skool method you speak of when I had an Echo Layla I think, but it’s had it’s day. Must invest in something new soon. Bought an Event Ez Bus a while back but it’s not compatible with my laptop. Anyone after and Event EZ Bus out there? I’ve got a Juno, Korg MS 2000 rack, and some effects units just sitting around now unfortunately. So I’m stuck with Ableton right now until I sort out my setup.
    The ION turntable seemed like a quick and easy solution, and you’re right, catalogues are to be avoided. Must check out Maplins or Peats so. Many MANY thanks for all the helpful advice. Lovin’ the blog, and looking forward to the Remix podcast. Can’t figure out the other record in the picture, gutted!

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  10. nice list but i have to say les savy fav along with the interpol album were the most disappointing albums i heard all year…….

    and what??? no melt banana./……… shame…..

    Comment by '@postraphe | May 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

