I Prefer The Obscure Remix Blog

Our Brother The Native – Make Amends For We Are Merely Vessels


It’s not every day that you’re stopped dead in your tracks by an album or band, but Our Brother The Native are starting to make a habit of it. Their debut album – Tooth And Claw – confounded all expectation and polarized opinion. Like Animal Collective, OBTN possess a unique talent and ability – to excite and infuriate in equal measure. But it’s important to remember that these guys were merely kids when they released their debut. In fact, two of them hadn’t even met! The album was conceived and created via music files swapped back and forth over the internet. Kids ‘eh? And like those teenagers in Larry Clark’s movie Kids, OBTN spit in the face of all that is conventional, disrespect the rules, and hold scant regard for their elders or peers. With a stubborn cockiness and swagger, they administer a brutal lesson in originality for all to hear. That is, if they even care whether or not we’re listening. Their songs are still devoid of structure – sweeping wildly between quiet, chaotic, delicate, and abrasive. But like all teenagers, they grow up, mellow, and mature. Make Amends…is the sound of a band endeavouring to harness the raw talent and originality so evident since day one in a more cohesive manner. The multitude of instruments utilised has been curbed – in favour of a more balanced and consistent sound. It is only the vocals that remain somewhat inaccessible, due to the anarchistic delivery and unconventional melodies. Although the songs vary wildly in style, mood, and length, OBTN now share more in common with bands from the post-rock era such as Mogwai, Explosions in the Sky, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, and most notably Sigur Ros, rather than Animal Collective and Coco Rosie. While they still display a raw, dare I say it, teenage angst, there is also a majestic beauty and emotional profundity prevalent throughout MAFWAMV, making it one of the first truly original, great albums of 2008. Mere mortals they ain’t!

See also: Sigur Ros – Agaetis Byrjun (Fatcat Records), Animal Collective – Sung Tongs (Fatcat Records), Mogwai – Come on Die Young (Chemikal Underground).

Release date – February 15th


January 21, 2008 Posted by | Music, Our Brother The Native | 5 Comments


Ten days since my last post! I gotta get the finger out, no excuses. Who’d have thought January could ever be this busy? Well, for now I’ll have to cobble through the growing list of half written posts, and see if I can finish a few. Although most if not all are probably out of date by now.


I’ve got a mountain of music to get through this week. I’ll hopefully have some good and bad things to say about most of the following – British Sea Power, Fabric – MANDY, Black Mountain, Thao, Adele, Dawn Landes, Malcolm Middleton, Field Music, Sons & Daughters, V/A – Controversy, V/A – The Compass Point Story, Kelly Polar, and Carl Craig. Until then, I’ll leave you with a recent review of the first great album of the year. Back soon!

Current Mood: Pensive

Current listening: Malcolm Middleton – Sleight Of Heart (Fulltime Hobby).

January 21, 2008 Posted by | General | 2 Comments