I Prefer The Obscure Remix Blog

This week I will be mostly listening to….

podcast.jpg

the new Billy Lyons Podcast!

Finally, The Silent Radio Show hits the virtual airwaves, and not a minute too soon. Only now he’s gonna have to teach me how to make one! Matt Vinyl, you’re off the hook, I was about to harass you into showing me – following the excellent advice I received last month on turntables and transferring vinyl to mp3’s.

Here’s one for Billy, I’m sure he’ll appreciate it. It’s Justus Kohncke’s cover version of Feuerland – from his Doppelleben album – the 1974 Michael Rother tune. Rumour has it that Rother (Kraftwerk, Neu!) is putting his old band Harmonia back together for a few shows. Let’s hope somebody brings them in for a Dublin gig. A long time ago when I worked out in Bray, I would spent my lunchbreak harassing Barry from Atom Records, offering him obscene amounts of money for his Harmonia album on vinyl. Nae luck!

kohncke.jpg

Kohncke returns in February with a brand new album for Kompakt called Safe And Sound. I’ll have some mp3’s soon. The one above is courtesy of this great little blog i just discovered. You should check it out, it’s called Pitchfork.

According to Pitchfork, the lineup for this year’s Coachella does NOT contain My Bloody Valentine. Interesting.

Anybody thinking of making the long journey will be graced with the presence of Kraftwerk, the Verve, Portishead, the Breeders, Death Cab for Cutie, Jens Lekman, My Morning Jacket, M.I.A., the Raconteurs, Rilo Kiley, Spiritualized, Love and Rockets, Battles, Dan Deacon, Justice, Kid Sister, Crystal Castles, UNKLE, Chromeo, Autolux, Louis XIV, Cold War Kids, Junkie XL, VHS or Beta, Cafe Tacuba, Fatboy Slim, Midnight Juggernauts, Akron/Family, Does It Offend You, Yeah?, and the Cinematic Orchestra.

January 22, 2008 - Posted by | Billy Lyons, Coachella, Harmonia, Justus Kohncke, Music, Pitchfork, The Silent Radio Show

15 Comments »

  1. I’ve been trying to convert my vinyl to MP3’s of late too but with no luck – downloaded Polderbits but that didn’t work and I tried Audacity as well but had no luck either. It’s probably my stupidity more than anything else but any suggestions/advice?

    Comment by GraveyardshiftShane | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Do you have decks? Get a decent recording device and hook it up to a DJ mixer. Some of them record 320kbps MP3s or even wavs that you can convert later.

    The answer I meant to give here was about Justus Kohncke, that album is really good, even the Carly Simon cover!

    Comment by Ronan | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. And here is Matt Vinyl’s advice – ‘If you have a laptop with a soundcard then just use the line in on the computer to play in your records. If it sounds a bit crap you can adjust it using a sound program like SoundForge. Then you can slap it through an MP3 converter and hey presto, your vinyl is now in digitised format’.
    Ronan – Cheers for the Efdemin recommendation, I was checking some out last night and it sounds rather nice. I take your point on the album thing, it’s been a bad year, but dance music has always suffered when it comes to albums I think. What are your feelings on Fizheuer Zieheuer? The 37 minute Villalobos epic. It’s still a single, but album length. A fair compromise? Just been looking through your Top 10 tracks Ronan, must have a good listen later, some great stuff in there.

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. Make that your Top 30, didn’t realise it went back that far. And congrats on the new job! Say hello to Terry for me.

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Silent Radio Show is one of the dodgiest podcasts I have been unfortunate enough to hear.
    I was around when he was making it. Shocking, fucking shocking.

    Comment by Pedro | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. unfortunately i don’t have the instruments or the ability to transfer from vinyl to mp3 yet so the podcast is taken purely from cd’s – this will prove a problem in the coming months because most of the stuff i want to put on the podcast is from vinyl:(

    pedro – city & colour – i’ll say no more.

    btw i use garageband to arrange the podcast – very easy.

    there will be the 2nd part of the podcast up on Friday/Saturday which i’m sure pedro will hate πŸ™‚

    thanks for the kind words mr obscure remix

    Comment by billy lyons | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Chaps,

    SoundForge has been my sound recording software of choice for nigh on ten years now and it has never let me down. It has a number of processes to take out the hiss, the blips and the other funny noises but you only need to use them if you’re sampling for creating music. If you’re just recording then any version of this software will do fine. Let me know if I can be of any help.

    Comment by Matt Vinyl | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Cheers once again Matt.
    Soundforge I’ve come across in the past, for sampling old breakbeats ‘n stuff. But recording/arranging the podcast, what’s the best method?
    Billy Lyons suggests Garageband, but that’s Mac only isn’t it?
    I was thinking maybe Acid, or Ableton. Is there an easier method?
    I’m also wondering where best to put it then. I see Billy used Podomatic, and you recently changed didn’t you?
    Easy now Pedro.
    πŸ™‚

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. i feel like i’ve stumbled on nerd corner

    Comment by Jim Carroll | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  10. Total nerd fest Jim. I know I started it, but now they’re just coming out of the woodwork!

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  11. Podomatic runs out of space unless you’re willing to pay for it. I even deleted episodes thinking that it might free up space but it didn’t. I changed to Libsyn recently and its working just fine.

    I’m pretty au fait with Soundforge so that’s why I use it. I’ll just let it record a chunk of tunes and then I’ll splice and dice them and rearrange them. Alternatively you could just record the podcast live. I’ve given up on the chat for the time being so I don’t bother doing them live anymore.
    Anyhow I can’t hang around here giving out advicewhen I could be arranging the highlighters and pens in my shirt pocket.

    Comment by Matt Vinyl | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  12. Old-men-nerd-fest…

    Act your age lads.

    πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Pedro | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  13. Matt – nice one, you should really charge an hourly consultancy fee. Or get yourself down to that Red Bull Academy and give some lectures, or conduct a few seminars at the DEAF fest!

    Pedro – Is that your answer for everything these days?

    Comment by i prefer the obscure remix | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  14. Ehhhh, I know you are but what am I.

    Comment by Pedro | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  15. “Ronan – Cheers for the Efdemin recommendation, I was checking some out last night and it sounds rather nice. I take your point on the album thing, it’s been a bad year, but dance music has always suffered when it comes to albums I think. What are your feelings on Fizheuer Zieheuer? The 37 minute Villalobos epic. It’s still a single, but album length. A fair compromise? Just been looking through your Top 10 tracks Ronan, must have a good listen later, some great stuff in there.”

    This is my opinion on Fizheuer Zieheuer! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SnubPrh8ZQ

    My advice if you want to do a podcast would be to buy some webspace and then just use Feedburner or something to do it for you. It’s so handy having webspace and costs around 70 euro or something for a ridiculously large amount if you use the right company.

    Comment by Ronan | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

